Museum opens Utah Aviation Hall of Fame

The newly-renovated Utah Aviation Hall of Fame, located at the Hill Aerospace Museum, officially opened to the public at a ribbon-cutting Oct. 14.

The Utah Aviation Hall of Fame, established in 1996 by Governor Mike Leavitt, recognizes individuals in the State of Utah who have distinguished themselves through heroic accomplishments as civil or military aviators, or by fostering exceptionally noteworthy advances in Utah’s aviation programs.

The overarching goal of the Utah Aviation Hall of Fame program is to cultivate public awareness and appreciation for the contributions of such worthy individuals to air power, and to encourage the continued development of aviation throughout the state.

The Utah Aviation Hall of Fame has been located at the Hill Aerospace Museum since its inception.

Originally, the recognition area was located in a hallway between the Hadley and Lindquist/Stewart Galleries. In 2014, a location in the Museum became available that would give the Utah Aviation Hall of Fame a more prominent setting near the entrance.

In 2015, the Utah State Legislature appropriated $150,000 to fund the relocation of the Hall of Fame. Additional funding for the project was provided through a generous gift from The ALSAM Foundation of Salt Lake City.

Each year, near Memorial Day, a new person is inducted at a ceremony held at the museum. The 32nd Flight (Pioneer) of the Order of Daedalians, the National Fraternity of Military Pilots, is the sponsor and custodial agency for the program housed at the Hill Aerospace Museum.

Current Utah Aviation Hall of Fame inductees are:

Maj. Gen. Orvil A. Anderson

Lt. Col. Paul Bloomquist

Gen. John Kenneth Cannon

Vern and Jessie Carter

Brig. Gen. Darrell Stuart Cramer

Maj. Gen. William E. Creer

Emmett “Cyclone” Davis

Col. Glenn Todd Eagleston

Capt. Richard Taylor Eastmond

Col. Bernard F. Fisher

Jacob Edwin Garn

Sen. Jake Garn

Lt. Cdr. William E. Hall

Col. Gail Halvorsen

Robert H. Hinckley

Col. Lorin Lavar Johnson

Lt. Col. Clifford Dale Jolley

Col. Willard R. Macfarlane

Col. Russell L. Maughan

Ardeth “Art” Mortensen

Alberta Hunt Nicholson

Lt. Col. Chase J. Nielsen

Maj. Gen. Chesley Gordon Peterson

Maj. Alden P. Rigby

Brig. Gen. Rhard C. Sanders

Col. Walter T. Stewart

Capt. Harold A. Sweet

Brig. Gen. Paul W. Tibbets

Lt. Wendell Van Twelves

The renovation of the new Utah Aviation Hall of Fame is now complete and can be visited at the Hill Aerospace Museum, 7961 Wardleigh Road, Building 1955, Hill AFB, Utah. You can easily get to the museum by taking Exit 338 off of Interstate 15 in Roy, Utah.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Create an Account!
Forgot Password?

Create an Account!

Want to Login?

Forgot Password?