Wing names top performers of 2014


HILL AIR FORCE BASE — About 400 people gathered at Layton’s Davis Conference Center to honor the 419th Fighter Wing’s top performers of 2014 during the Airmen of the Year banquet Saturday.

Military personnel, families, business leaders and wing alumni heard from guest speaker Chief Master Sgt. Cameron Kirksey, Command Chief of Air Force Reserve Command. During his remarks, Kirksey recounted the wing’s greatest accomplishments of 2014, encouraged leaders and thanked reservists for their service.

Col. Bryan Radliff, 419th FW commander, also took time to thank the Airmen. 

“This was a phenomenal year for our wing,” Radliff said. “This is a great organization, and I’m proud of all of you. The 419th Fighter Wing is the best wing in Air Force Reserve Command, and I look forward to celebrating more outstanding achievements in 2015.”

Winners were announced in the following categories:

Airman of the Year: Senior Airman Rick Souza, 67th Aerial Port Squadron

Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Joshua Thomas, 419th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron

Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Miranda Sayre, 419th Medical Squadron

First Sergeant of the Year: Senior Master Sgt. Robert Nolan, 419th MDS

Company Grade Officer of the Year: 1st Lt. Sterling Broadhead, 419th Logistics Readiness Squadron

Field Grade Officer of the Year: Maj. Mark Eilertsen, 419th Civil Engineer Squadron

Civilian of the Year, Category 1: Ruby Contreras, 419th Operations Group

Civilian of the Year, Category 2: Barbara Godsey, 419th FW staff

Chiefs’ Award: Tech. Sgt. Ryan Howard, 419th Security Forces Squadron

Diamond Excellence Award: Staff Sgt. Toni Paine, 419th Force Support Squadron

Honor Guard Member of the Year: Tech. Sgt. Wallace Kowis, 67th APS

Employer of the Year: Zions Bank