Officials approve HSM for recent disaster relief, eligibility requirements

Officials approve HSM for recent disaster relief, eligibility requirements

JOINT BASE SAN ANTONIO-RANDOLPH, Texas — The Joint Staff recently approved the Humanitarian Service Medal for service members, Coast Guardsmen, and members of the Reserve components, to include the National Guard, who were physically present during recent hurricane disaster relief.

Any qualified personnel who directly participated with Hurricane Harvey, Irma or Maria relief efforts and provided disaster support to impacted areas would merit receipt of the award.

The following regions, counties and inclusive dates should be considered:

Hurricane Harvey (Aug. 23 through Oct. 31, 2017)

Texas counties: Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller and Wharton counties; or in the following Louisiana parishes: Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, Natchitoches, Rapides, Sabine, Vermilion and Vernon.

Hurricanes Irma and Maria (Sept. 8 through Oct. 20, 2017)

State of Florida or the Caribbean Islands, and adjacent waters, from Barbados northward to Anguilla, and then westward to the Florida Straits.

Specific individual eligibility, wear and classification of the HSM is available via myPers. Select “any” from the dropdown menu and search “Humanitarian Service Medal.”

For more information about Air Force personnel programs, go to myPers. Individuals who do not have a myPers account can request one by following these instructions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Create an Account!
Forgot Password?

Create an Account!

Want to Login?

Forgot Password?