The Utah Safety Council is offering 4 hour defensive driving courses for individuals in the Ogden area. Courses are held throughout each month, at its location at Weber State University in Ogden. The courses will be held in the Shepherd Union Building on Saturday Dec. 7 and 21, from 8 a.m. to noon, and on Tuesday, Dec.10 from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m.
The 4 hour course consists of classroom instruction and focuses on collision prevention, driving confidence, awareness of hazards and improving driving skills.
Drivers may complete the course for a 50-point reduction from their Utah driving record, once every three years. Individuals 55 years of age and older, may qualify for insurance discounts after completing the course. This course also satisfies requirements for emergency vehicle violations, also known as the Slow Down, Move Over law.
Registration is $40 per person, or $10 for those age 55 and older who are only seeking a reduction in their insurance rate. For additional information or to register, please contact the Utah Safety Council at 801.746.SAFE (7233) or visit www.utahsafetycouncil.org.